Posted by: irishhungercomm | July 24, 2011

Afri Report – Praise and Suggestions Going Forward

From Jim Gallagher on the Afri Report on Famine Graveyards

What a great report.  I hope that we can build on it, with Michael Blanche’s and Afri’s help.  I met the author of that report, Micheal Cusak, back in the 1990’s.  He gave me a copy of his report on the Hunger in Co. Meath.  I notice that some of the written referenced material were produced after the study was done, so I would expect that there is some new information.  For example,  I know that the Hunger section of the Skibbereen cemetery has been identified and cleaned up, as I was there in 1996 and received a tour from the local Committee (Cleary). Also, an excellent  FAS report was done on the Ennistymon, Co. Clare Workhouse that is not referenced. That’s where the National AOH sponsored a Memorial to the Hunger – I chaired that activity for then President George Clough. There may be much more to add to the subject report.

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

