Posted by: irishhungercomm | March 6, 2011

New Famine Committee Appointments – Ireland

Announcement from the Department of Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs Website

This website established by a department of the Irish Government. This announcement can be accessed at:

Home page is:


The National Famine Commemoration Committee has now been appointed for its second term of office.  The committee was first established in July 2008 following a Government decision to commemorate the Great Irish Famine with an annual memorial day.  The main objective of the committee is to consider and develop appropriate arrangements for annual national commemorations of the famine.

The achievements of the committee’s first term of office have provided an excellent foundation on which to build now and in the future.  The work programme for the committee’s second term of office will comprise four strands:

•    To commemorate those who suffered, died and emigrated during this tragic time in our history;
•    To secure the participation of local communities and our young people at the highest level possible;
•    To explore how we can continue to remember those who suffer from famine and hunger in the modern world;
•    To continue to work with our diaspora communities – the Irish abroad – to consider how the extraordinary contributions of those that emigrated and of their many descendents abroad can be appropriately celebrated.

The members of the Committee will be asked to serve for a period of two years, at which point the terms of reference and membership of the Committee will be reviewed.

The members of the National Famine Commemoration Committee 2011-2013 are:

•    Dr. Majda Bne Saad, UCD
•    Professor Thomas Cooke, Pobal
•    Mr. Brian Hanratty, Gorta
•    Ms Terri Kearney, Skibbereen Heritage Centre
•    Ms Mary Kennedy, Broadcaster
•    Mr. Justin Kilcullen, Trócaire
•    Dr. Éamon Phoenix, Historian
•    Mr. Hugh Swift
•    Professor Ríonach Uí Ógáin, UCD
•    Dr Patrick Wallace, National Museum of Ireland

The Committee also includes representatives of the Department of the Taoiseach; the Department of Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs; the Department of Foreign Affairs; the Department of Education; the Department of Defence; the Defence Forces and OPW.



  1. Could you tell me if there is to be a Famine Commemoration Day this year, 2011; and if so, when and where it will be held? My wife and I would like to attend.

    Thank you for help in this matter.

    Tom McCormick

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: