Posted by: irishhungercomm | February 14, 2011

The Workhouses of Ireland Book

For a full list of workhouses of Ireland see book by John O’Connor, The Workhouses of Ireland – the fate of Ireland’s Poor – contains a full list of all workhouses and date built, cost of building etc. Excellent book for anyone with an interest in this area.

I too fully support that these buildings should be national monuments and preserved. Some of them are in quite good condition e.g Dromore West Workhouse, Co. Sligo and Portumna Worhouse, Co. Galway (still in State ownership, I believe)

Posted by Kathleen


Responses

  1. Looking for information of Bridget C Moore (My grand mother) born Feb. 27, 1871 in Dingle, County Kerry, Ireland, and the reason why she would have come to America, alone,on a ship, City of Berlin, on July 30, 1886. She lived with family she did not know, married my grandfather Timothy Joseph Brown, whose family came from Coum, Kerry , Irland , He married Bridget Brosnihan in Dingle on Aug. 4, l860. I am pieceing together my father’s family, but no one can find out why Bridget’s family sent her here alone and if we have any family still in Ireland. Mary Brown Sobrito

  2. Hi Mary, Ref Bridget Moore, you say your Grandmother lived with a family she didn’t know. I might be able to explain this, provided you won’t be offended. I searched my vital record discs,& came accross something what might explain the reason. I would prefer you e-mail me, direct at tateman@eircom.net, rather than this site, as it would be more private in what i may have to explain.
    Jim Tate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

